" />

KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS Council #13037 High Springs, Florida

     The Knights of Columbus 4th Degree


 You have been bestowed the honor of Knighthood, and continued your journey in learning the lesson of patriotism. The primary purpose of your Fourth Degree membership is to foster the spirit of patriotism in members and the community at large and encourage active Catholic citizenship.

As a Fourth Degree Knight you have the opportunity to become part of your assembly's color corps. As a color corps member, you will be recognized widely by the distinctive attire of tuxedo, feathered hat (chapeau), cape and sword. Color corps members regularly take part in civic events such as parades and wreath-laying ceremonies, and in ecclesial functions at Catholic churches.


Emblem of the Patriotic Degree
Fourth Degree Emblem

The triad emblem of the Fourth Degree features the dove, the cross and the globe. The dove, classic symbol of the Holy Spirit and peace, is shown hovering over the orb of the Earth (globe). Both are mounted on a variation of the Crusader's cross, which was found on the tunics and capes of the Crusading knights who battled to regain the Holy Land from the pagans.

Spiritually, the sacred symbols on the emblem typify the union of the Three Divine Persons in one Godhead, the most Blessed Trinity.

The Globe – God the Father, Creator of the Universe.
The Cross – God the Son, Redeemer of Mankind.
The Dove – God the Holy Spirit, Sanctifier of Humanity.

The colors of the symbols are:

A blue globe with the land of the Western Hemisphere in white.
A red cross with gold borders and gold knobs at the end of the points forming the ends of the arms of the cross, also known as the Isabella cross.
A white dove.
Red, white and blue are the colors of the flag of the country in which the Knights originated. They are used to stress patriotism, the basic principle of the Fourth Degree.

The Color Corps

The Color Corps of the Knights of Columbus are the uniformed members of the Fourth Degree. They are the ones who are most noticeable at church and public functions, parades, etc. They actually consist of two parts: the Color Guard and the Honor Guard

Honor Guardsmen are those members who have mastered the Manual of the Sword. All others are Color Guard.

The Corps basically follows a Naval theme with ranks and insignias. Note the chapeaus, which are never called hats, and are similar to the old naval uniforms.

Cape colors are an indication of rank.

On the national level:

  • Vice Supreme Masters wear blue capes and chapeaus
  • Masters wear gold capes and chapeaus
  • District Marshals wear green capes and chapeaus

Within the local assemblies, the Master more or less sets the rules. Commanders wear purple capes and chapeaus and usually lead organized units. Faithful navigators whether a member of the corps or not are permitted to wear white capes and chapeaus. By the way, former VSMs, DMs, and PFNs are all permitted to wear their respective capes and chapeaus when they finish their term of office.


The 4th Degree Knight;


Upcoming Events

Wednesday, May 29 at 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Monday, Jun 10 at 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Jun 11 at 6:15 PM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday, Jun 26 at 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM